Building Better Healthcare Awards

Meet the judges of the 2020 Building Better Healthcare Awards


The event, now in its 23rd year, is judged by experts across the healthcare industry

The Building Better Healthcare Awards and Exhibition celebrates the best in healthcare innovation, shining the spotlight on those working to create a better environment for patients and staff alike.

The awards has a specially curated panel of experts who kindly volunteer their time to review and vote for the winning entries.

Roy Lilley

Chairman of the Judges

A founder member of the NHS Trust Federation, independent health policy analyst, Roy has twice been voted the UK’s top speaker on NHS topics and was named among the Sunday Times’ Debrett’s list of the top 500 most- influential people in the UK.

Roy Lilley presented at the 2019 event

Roy Lilley presented at the 2019 event

Catherine Zeliotis

Category: Building Design

Since joining Stantec (Anshen + Allen) in 1997, Catherine has collaborated and led clinical teams to fuse humane design and functional efficiency that create supportive and transformational environments for patients and staff.

Following her postgraduate work with the Space Syntax Unit at University College London, she has a particular interest in integrating an intelligent understanding of the use of space within healthcare environments.

In addition to project work, she belongs to Stantec’s Medical Planning Forum, a group that works practice-wide to identify the challenges of healthcare architecture and to improve techniques and outcomes.

Her recent projects have concentrated on transformational cancer centres including Calgary Cancer Centre; the new Cancer Centre at Guy’s Hospital in London; the National Centre for Cancer Care & Research for Hamad Medical Corporation in Doha, Qatar; and the Cleveland Clinic Cancer Centre in Ohio, USA.

Dr James P Kingsland OBE

Category: Clinicians’ Choice Awards

James is the senior partner at a nationally-award-winning GP practice in the North West of England and has a wealth of experience in general practice, medical education, and medical politics.

He is also the president of the National Association of Primary Care (UK) and co-author of the new care model, the Primary Care Home.

He served as senior GP advisor at the Department of Health to both ministers and senior civil service between 1999-2013 and was National Clinical Lead for the English Department of Health’s implementation programmes for Clinical Commissioning Community and Practice Based Commissioning.

He has also held advisory positions with NICE, CQC and Monitor.

A non-executive director of the Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust, he is also a founding director of Waring Health, an international specialist medical consultancy firm.

Kevin Howell

Category: Estates and Facilities

Kevin became director of estates and facilities at East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust in January and has more than 35 years experience in the NHS.

He has held a number of senior and executive estates and facilities roles – including at West Hertfordshire Hospitals NHS Trust, St George’s University and Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

Jon Wilks

Category: Product Class

Jon is the co-founder and managing director of UK HealthGateway, a specialist UK health market access consultancy that works on behalf of medical device companies from all over the world who want to access the UK NHS with their innovations.

Patricia Wilkie

Category: Patient’s Choice

Patricia is a social scientist who has spent most of her working life as a researcher in academic departments of medicine, often focusing on the patient perspective.

She has also worked as a volunteer for different patient organisations, first joining the National Association for Patient Participation as president in 2006 and becoming chairman in 2011.

Patricia Wilkie presented at the event in 2019

Patricia Wilkie presented at the event in 2019

Dr Peter Carter OBE

Category: Clinicians’ Choice Awards

Peter Carter was chief executive of the Royal College of Nursing from 2007-2015.

Prior to that he was chief executive of the Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust for 12 years.

A registered mental health and general nurse; Peter is a graduate of the Institute of Personnel and Development.

He is a visiting professor at four universities and is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of General Practitioners and an Ad Eundem Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland.

He is now an independent healthcare consultant, and has twice been asked by NHS Improvement to be the interim chairman of two NHS trusts.

Sarah Waller presented the trophy to 2019 winners St Columba's Hospice

Sarah Waller presented the trophy to 2019 winners St Columba's Hospice

Sarah Waller

Category: Patient Environment Class

Sarah led The King’s Fund’s Enhancing the Healing Environment programme from 2000 to 2014.

She developed the dementia-friendly environmental assessment tools which are now in use nationally and internationally and is an associate specialist at the Association for Dementia Studies at the University of Worcester.

Steve Martin

Category: Building Design Class

Steve Martin is an associate partner at Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners, with considerable experience in the coordination of large complex projects from concept design to construction detailing.

He has been with the practice for 29 years, initially working on Heathrow Terminal 5 and has been chosen to lead the judging for the Building Design Class after his work on the new Cancer Centre at Guy’s Hospital in London previously won at the Building Better Healthcare Awards.

As project architect for the Cancer Centre, Steve led the project from the initial competition briefing through to completion on site.

Steve is currently working as a project lead on the International Quarter London; a joint venture between Lend Lease and London Continental Railways to create a thriving business quarter at the heart of London’s newest metropolitan area, Stratford City.

Steve Martin took to the stage to present at the 2019 event

Steve Martin took to the stage to present at the 2019 event

Enter the awards

The awards close for entries on Friday 17 July at 5pm BST.

  • Visit
  • Review the ‘Awards Categories’ list and choose the category(ies) that suit your company, design or product best.
  • To enter, simply click on ‘Award Entry’ and fill out the awards entry form.

Winners will be announced live at the awards ceremony taking place on 4 November 2020 at The Brewery, London.

Need help creating your entry?

Our editorial team is available to give you one-on-one guidance throughout the process, email or call +44 (0) 207 193 6654 with any questions that you may have.

You may also like